

1. SALIENT FEATURES OF THE MUNICIPALITIES AFTER PASSING THE 74TH **AMENDMENT ACT:**

The 74th Amendment Act 1992 came into effect on 1 June 1993 heralding a new era in the history of urban local self-government in India.

The salient features of the Act are as follows.

- 1. Constitution of three types of municipalities:
- 1. Nagar Panchayat
- 2. Municipal Council
- 3. Municipal Corporation

Nagar Panchayats are created for a transitional areas (the area which is fast changing from rural to urban area) or for a very small urban areas. Its tenure is five years.

Municipal councils are created for smaller urban areas. Its tenure is five years.

Municipal corporations are created for larger urban areas. Its tenure is 5 years.

